Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | May 22, 2011

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 3

Week 3 is the third week of the first mesocycle of my Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of May 16 to 22, 2011 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 5/16/11 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal TT Test 1.5 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 AR OFF 0.5 WU ACCC 40K TT 6.0
Actual TT Test 1.5 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 AR OFF 0.5 WU ACCC 40K TT 6.0

T

I had another good week that consisted of a field test, a recovery period and my first 40 km time trial race of the season.  I had a great field test on Monday in very windy conditions.  I completed the 10-mile course (6 miles uphill with 420 feet of ascent) in 26:44 for my second best time to date.  It is the second time I have broken 27:00, which is one of my goals for 2011. On Sunday, I participated in the Arizona City Cotton Classic Time Trial.  I rode reasonably well but I was a bit disappointed in my time of 1:06:46 (22.3 mph).  I expected to break 1:05 but I tired a bit during the last 10 km. That’s understandable since it was my first 40 km event of the season.  The good news is that I was 41 seconds faster than I was on the same course at last year’s state TT championships.  This week, I’ll be racing in the Southern California/Nevada Cycling Association state championships.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – May 25, 2011

The Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #30

Leave a Reply

Categories

