Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | May 15, 2011

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 2

Week 2 is the second week of the first mesocycle of my Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of May 9 to 15, 2011 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 5/9/11 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.5 SS 1.0 AR OFF 1.75 HI 0.75 AR 1.5 VO2/SI:L OFF 7.5
Actual 2.5 SS 1.0 AR OFF 2.0 HI 0.75 AR 1.25 SI:L OFF 7.5

T

I had a strong week.  I rode my Trek hybrid for Monday’s Steady Spinning session (it’s nice to get off the racing bike once in awhile).  I had a very good Hill Intervals workout on Thursday (3 x 3.1 miles up a hill with 440 feet of elevation gain) but I tired a bit toward the end because the hard efforts were into the wind.  I was just a bit tired for Saturday’s workout so I passed on the VO2 Max Intervals and did 12 x 1:00 Sprint Intervals: Long with 2:00 recovery on the indoor trainer.  I pushed a moderate gear (53 x 17) at a fairly high resistance setting at 90-95 rpm.  Overall, it was a great workout.  I have a field test on Monday and my first 40K time trial this year on Sunday. I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – May 19, 2011

The Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #29

Responses

  1. Thank you for posting this. I enjoyed reading today’s article very much. Checking up on my health is something I do often. I try to keep up with today’s trends so I’m more active and healthier. Thanks again for sharing your article.


Leave a Reply

Categories

