Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | May 8, 2011

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 1

This is the first week of my Competition Phase.  In many ways, this is the most enjoyable time of the year because you get to see your hard work pay off during competition.  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of May 2 to 8, 2011 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 5/2/11 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.0 AR 1.0 SS OFF 1.0 SS 0.5 WU SM TT 5.5 M OFF 5.0
Actual 1.0 AR 1.0 SS OFF 1.0 SS 0.5 WU SM TT 5.5 M OFF 5.0

 

I had another great racing week.  My primary goal was to recover from Sunday’s race, and be ready for another great race effort on Saturday.  I was successful on both counts.  I did an Active Recovery ride on Monday, and Steady Spinning sessions on Tuesday and Thursday.  I did my race-day warm-up on Friday to get some brief high-intensity work.  Saturday’s race was the South Mountain Time Trial in Phoenix, AZ.  It is a 5.5 mile hill climb with over 1,100 feet of climbing.  I set a personal best of 25:47 (12.8 mph average), which is over two minutes faster than last year’s effort!   My only disappointment was I did not achieve my goal of breaking 25 minutes.  Oh well, that becomes my goal for 2012!  I have another hard training week coming up.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – May 12, 2011

Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #28

Leave a Reply

Categories

