Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | February 13, 2011

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase Week 4

Week 4 is the first week of the second mesocycle of my Intensity Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of February 7-13, 2011 (click here to download my plan for the Intensity Phase).

Week of 2/7/11 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.5 Tempo 1.0 HCR OFF 1.75 HI 1.0 AR 1.25 SLT/SI:S OFF 7.5
Actual 1.25 SS 1.0 CI 1.0 AR OFF VOS TT 1.0 HCR OFF 5.75

 

I made some significant changes in my training plan because I had an opportunity to compete in the Time Trial stage of my club’s (White Mountain Road Club) Valley of the Sun stage race, which is one of the biggest stage races in the country.  I tried to do an interval workout on Monday but I was still feeling the aftereffects of last week’s cold so I died after one hard effort and finished with a Steady Spinning workout instead.  I felt much better on Tuesday when I did a Cadence Intervals workout that consisted of 2 x 10:00 intervals at 100 to 110 rpm with 5 minutes of recovery between each hard effort.  Friday’s TT consisted of a 14.2 mile (roughly) out-and-back course with about 250 feet of elevation on the outward leg.  I felt fairly lousy for the first 4 or 5 miles, probably because of the lingering effects of my cold.  But I hung in there and started to feel much better over the last 9 to 10 miles.  My time was 39:17, which was somewhere between 21.7 and 22.2 mph depending on the actual distance.  Most importantly, my average power was 225 watts, which was a slight increase over last month’s race when I felt a lot better.  So I am definitely headed in the right direction. I want to get my average power up to 250+ watts in the coming months.  I have another hard week coming up.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – February 17, 2011

Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #17

Leave a Reply

Categories

