Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | January 2, 2011

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 13

Happy New Year!  Week 13 is the first week of the fifth and final mesocycle of my Endurance Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of December 27, 2010 to January 2, 2011 (click here to download my plan for the Endurance Phase).

Week of 12/27/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 3.0 SS 1.25 CI OFF 2.0 Tempo 1.0 AR 1.75 HI OFF 9.0
Actual 2.75 SS 1.25 HCR OFF 1.25 TT/SI:L 1.0 AR 1.25 SLT OFF 7.5

 

I had a great week coming off of last week’s fatigue.  It was unusually cold and rainy here in Arizona so I only had one outdoor ride, which was Monday’s Steady Spinning session.  I rode 50 miles for the first time since moving to AZ a year ago on a route that included over 1,800 feet of steady climbing.  I was slightly sore the next day so I did a High Cadence Recovery workout instead of Cadence Intervals.  The session included 9 high-cadence spin ups from 1 to 2 minutes in length at 110+ rpm.  I had a great indoor Time Trial/Sprint Intervals: Long workout on Thursday.  I did 3 x 6:00 TT in a relatively big gear at 85-90 rpm with 4:00 recovery between hard efforts (Zone 4 intervals).  I then did 5 x 45 seconds SI at 100+ rpm with 2:15 recovery.  Saturday’s Single Leg Training session was my first in 2010.  I did 5 sets of 1:00 with each leg and another minute spinning with both legs.  I’ll be doing many more SLT sessions during my upcoming Intensity Phase.  I have another hard week coming up.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – January 6, 2010

2011 Intensity Phase Training Program

Leave a Reply

Categories

