Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | December 26, 2010

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 12

Week 12 is the third week of the fourth mesocycle of my Endurance Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles), which means it is a recovery week.  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of December 20-26, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Endurance Phase).

Week of 12/20/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal TT Test 1.5 1.0 CI OFF 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 AR OFF 4.5
Actual TT Test 1.5 1.0 CI OFF 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 AR OFF 4.5

 

I definitely needed some rest because of the fatigue I experienced last week.  However, I had a great field test on Monday, tying my personal best for both average power (211 watts) and cadence (95 average rpm) over the hilly, 10-mile route.  I also had a very good Cadence Intervals workout on Tuesday.  I did 2 x 10:00 and 1 x 5:00 hard efforts at 100-110 rpm, with 5:00 recovery between intervals (heart rate in Zone 3 during hard efforts).  Over the remaining five days, I did two Active Recovery sessions and took three days off.  That should have me well rested for next week as I ramp up the mileage.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a safe and happy new year!

NEXT POST – January 2, 2011

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 13

Leave a Reply

Categories

