Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | December 19, 2010

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 11

Week 11 is the second week of the fourth mesocycle of my Endurance Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of December 13-19, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Endurance Phase).

Week of 12/13/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 3.0 SS 1.0 CI OFF 2.0 Tempo 1.0 AR 1.5 HI OFF 8.5
Actual 1.25 SS 1.0 CI OFF 1.25 PI 1.0 AR 1.25 CI OFF 5.75

 

This was a fairly difficult week.  I was very tired and unable to complete some of my workouts as planned.  We also had some inclimate weather here in Phoenix (a rarity), so I performed several workouts indoors.  Monday’s Steady Spinning session was supposed to be a 50-mile ride but I didn’t feel very good.  It was one of those lethargic, low energy days we suffer from time-to-time.  I had a very good Cadence Intervals workout on Tuesday (2 x 10:00 at 100-110 rpm with 5:00 recovery between hard efforts), and was stuck inside on Thursday where I had my best workout of the week: Pyramid Intervals with 3 x 7:00 repeats in big gears and 5:00 recovery between hard efforts.  I also had another very good Cadence Interval workout on Saturday (3 x 10:00 at 100-110 rpm with 5:00 recovery between intervals), but I did this workout because my legs were too tired to push bigger gears.  That’s a clear sign that I need some rest.  Fortunately, I have a recovery week coming up, but that includes a field test (10-mile time trial) and a Cadence Interval workout on Monday and Tuesday respectively.  Hopefully, I will have the strength to perform well.   I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week and an enjoyable holiday season!

NEXT POST – December 23, 2010

Eating Well During the Holidays

Leave a Reply

Categories

