Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | December 12, 2010

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 10

Week 10 is the first week of the fourth mesocycle of my Endurance Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of December 6-12, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Endurance Phase).

Week of 12/6/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.5 SS 1.0 CI OFF 2.0 Tempo 1.0 AR 1.5 HI OFF 8.0
Actual 2.5 SS 1.0 AR OFF 2.0 Tempo 1.0 AR 1.5 HI OFF 8.0

 

I had my best training week since I moved to Arizona one year ago.  Monday’s Steady Spinning session was 46 miles long with 1,600 feet of climbing.  I was sore afterwards so I did an Active Recovery ride on Tuesday instead of Cadence Intervals.  Thursday’s Tempo ride was a breakthrough workout.  I rode for 40 miles at just under 20 mph while remaining in my lactate threshold heart rate (LTHR) Zone 2 on terrain that included nearly 1,500 feet of climbing (great result but I should be working harder during Tempo rides).  I beat my previous best at this distance by nearly 5 minutes!  Saturday’s Hill Intervals workout included 3 x 2.1 mile ascents up a hill that gains about 260 feet with 3 x 2.1 mile recovery back down the hill.  My average power during the 3 hard efforts was 231 watts (for a total of 25 minutes).   I have another hard week coming up.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – December 16, 2010

Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #15

Leave a Reply

Categories

