Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | November 29, 2010

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 8

Greetings – I’m writing this post on my 49th birthday.  That means I start racing with the 50-year olds next season!  I had a wonderful Thanksgiving/birthday weekend and I hope you did as well.  Week 8 is the second week of the third mesocycle of my Endurance Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of November 22-28, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Endurance Phase).

Week of 11/22/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.5 SS 1.0 CI OFF 1.5 Tempo 1.0 AR 1.5 SI OFF 7.5
Actual 2.5 SS 1.0 CI OFF 1.0 Tempo 1.0 AR 1.5 SI OFF 7.0

 

I had a fairly tough week because I was tired for most of my rides.  However, I still rode fairly well.  I did 45 miles on hilly terrain for Monday’s Steady Spinning session, but at a slightly slower speed than usual.  Tuesday’s Cadence Intervals workout was great.  I performed 3 x 5:00 intervals at 105-115 rpm with a 5:00 recovery between hard efforts.  It is clear that my strength as a cyclist is spinning a high cadence.  I can comfortably spin 100-105 rpm for extended periods.  Thursday’s Tempo ride was very difficult because I was really tired.  I cut the ride to an hour and I still rode reasonably well.  After a good Active Recovery spin on Friday, I had a strong Strength Intervals workout on Saturday on slightly tired legs.  I did 3 x 5:00 intervals with 5:00 recovery between hard efforts.  My average power for the 3 intervals was 250 watts, which I have done consistently over my past 3 Strength Intervals workouts.  I have a field test on Monday and an interval workout on Tuesday followed by 5 days of much-needed recovery.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – December 2, 2010

Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #13

Leave a Reply

Categories

