Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | November 14, 2010

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 6

Week 6 is the third week of the second mesocycle of my Endurance Phase, which means it is a recovery week (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of November 8-14, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Endurance Phase).

Week of 11/8/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal TT Test 1.0 1.0 CI OFF 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 AR OFF 4.0
Actual TT Test 1.0 1.25 CI OFF 0.75 AR OFF 1.0 AR OFF 4.0

 

I was definitely in need of some recovery.  My legs were a bit tired last week so I wasn’t sure how I would perform during my two high intensity workouts to start this week.  As it turned out, I felt great and did extremely well.  I set a personal best during my 10 mile field test on Monday.  I rode 6 miles uphill and 4 miles downhill with an average power of 211 watts and an average cadence of 95 rpm (average speed was a little over 21 mph; average heart rate was about 7 beats below my lactate threshold heart rate).   My goal is to build up to an average power of 230+ watts during my TT tests.  I also had a very good Cadence Intervals workout on Tuesday.  I did 3 x 7:00 intervals at 105-120 rpm with 5:00 minutes of recovery between each hard effort.  The next five days were devoted to rest and included two Active Recovery sessions.  Back to ramping up the volume this week.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – November 18, 2010

Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #12

Leave a Reply

Categories

