Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | November 7, 2010

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 5

Week 5 is the second week of the second mesocycle of my Endurance Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of November 1-7, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Endurance Phase).

Week of 11/1/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.0 SS 1.0 HCS OFF 1.5 Tempo 0.5 AR 1.5 SI OFF 6.5
Actual 2.5 SS 1.0 HCS OFF 1.25 Tempo 0.75 AR 1.0 SI OFF 6.5

 

I had a solid week but I had to deal with a lot of leg fatigue.  My best ride of the week was Monday’s 2.5 hour Steady Spinning session.  I covered 46 miles, which is the longest ride I have had since moving to Arizona last December.  The ride included over 1,500 feet of climbing on legs that were already a bit tired, so I had to deal with leg fatigue for the rest of the week.  My High Cadence Spinning workout was great, but I was really tired during my Tempo ride and cut it short (it started as a Tempo ride and ended as Active Recovery).  I was pleasantly surprised at how strong I was for Saturday’s Strength Intervals workout.  I performed 3 x 5:00 intervals in a big gear at a moderate cadence (approximately 80 rpm) with 5:00 recovery between hard efforts.  I averaged 251 watts over the 15 minutes of hard effort.  I have a well-earned recovery week coming up, but the first two days of the week include a field test and an interval workout.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – November 11, 2010

Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #11

Leave a Reply

Categories

