Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | October 24, 2010

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 3

Week 3 is the third week of the first mesocycle of my Endurance Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles), which means it is a recovery week.  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of October 18-24, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Endurance Phase).

Week of 10/18/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal TT Test 1.0 1.0 CI OFF 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 AR OFF 4.0
Actual TT Test 1.0 1.25 CI OFF 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 AR OFF 4.25

 

Interestingly, I didn’t feel like I needed any recovery.  I was very strong all week, but stuck to my recovery workouts because I know the training I have coming up is going to be very strenuous.  I had my first field test on Monday, which resulted in a PB over 10 miles on the course I ride for this test (6 miles uphill with a 420 foot ascent; 4 miles downhill).  I completed the field test in 28:51 at 208 average watts.  My average HR was 10 beats below my lactate threshold heart rate so I could have worked much harder.  Not too bad though.  I had a great Cadence Interval workout as well, performing 4 x 5:00 at 105-120 rpm in a relatively easy gear with 5:00 recovery between hard efforts.  I finished off the week with two Active Recovery workouts. Once again, I increase my volume this week.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – October 28, 2010

Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #9

Leave a Reply

Categories

