Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | October 10, 2010

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 1

It’s the first week of my Endurance Phase training plan for the 2011 racing season.  I’m very excited about the upcoming season because I have a year’s worth of experience riding here in sunny Arizona so I know how to significantly improve my performance.  My goal for the endurance phase is to improve my aerobic and muscular endurance.  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of October 4-10, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Endurance Phase).

Week of 10/4/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.5 SS 1.0 HCS OFF 1.0 Tempo 0.5 AR 1.0 SI OFF 5.0
Actual 1.75 SS 1.0 HCS OFF 1.0  Tempo 0.5 AR 1.0 PI OFF 5.25

 

I had a great first week.  My Steady Spinning session took place on a fairly hilly course that included over 1,000 feet of climbing.  I did my Tempo ride on the same course at a higher intensity (e.g., bigger gears).  I did my High Cadence Spinning and Active Recovery workouts indoors on a stationary bike.  Saturday’s workout was on my indoor trainer so I did a Pyramid Intervals workout, which consisted of 3 x 5:00 intervals in big gears with 5 minutes of recovery between hard efforts. Overall, I’m off to a great start.  I increase my mileage slightly next week.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – October 14, 2010

Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #8

Leave a Reply

Categories

