Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | October 7, 2010

My Endurance Phase Training Plan for 2011

A few weeks ago, I posted my Recovery Phase training plan, which consisted of three weeks of very easy spinning with lots of time off.  Time really flies because I have now begun my serious training for the 2011 racing season.  I am very excited because this is the first time I will be able to train outdoors during my endurance phase since I now live in Arizona.  I have two goals for this phase.  First, I want to improve my aerobic endurance (the ability to use oxygen to produce energy for the muscles over an extended period of time).  While it was good this past season, I believe it can get much better.  Second, I want to significantly enhance my muscular endurance (the ability to pedal a relatively large gear at a moderate cadence for an extended period of time), which is a vitally important physiological ability in the mountainous region I race in.  As you review this plan, keep a few points in mind that will assist you with the creation of your training plans:

  1. My endurance phase program consists of five, 21-day mesocycles (click here to learn more about mesocycles).  More specifically, it uses a 16/5 training pattern (16 days of relatively hard training followed by 5 days of recovery).  Many training plans are based on a 28-day mesocycle (23 days of relatively hard training followed by 5 days of recovery), but I prefer the shorter timeframe to provide my nearly 50-year old legs with sufficient time to recover.  If you are a younger cyclist, a 28-day mesocycle should work fine.
  2. I believe muscular endurance was a weakness for me during the past season and the training plan I have developed is specifically designed to address that weakness.  I have incorporated lots of Tempo rides, Strength Intervals and Hill Intervals.  These are workouts that will greatly enhance muscular endurance.
  3. The training plan applies progressive overload to enhance aerobic endurance.  Specifically, I go from 14.5 hours of riding during Endurance Phase 1 to 23 hours in Endurance Phase 5.  During this time, my weekly volume nearly doubles.
  4. I will perform a 10-mile field test during the recovery week of each mesocycle.  I strongly recommend you incorporate some type of field test in your training plans to evaluate your progress on a continuous basis.

Click on the link below to download my Endurance Phase training plan.  Have a great weekend!

Endurance Phase Training Plan

NEXT POST – October 11, 2010

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 1

Leave a Reply

Categories

