Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | September 20, 2010

My Periodized Training Program: Recovery Phase

The end of a long, successful racing season is at hand, and it is now time for me to rest and recuperate.  I have attached my Recovery Phase training plan.  It is really quite simple: ride easy or not at all!  For three weeks, I take 3-4 days off each week and ride in Zones 1 & 2 during my rides.  The goal of the Recovery Phase is to rest and recover, so you don’t need any moderate or high-intensity rides.  My Zone 2 Steady Spinning sessions include several Zone 3 spin-ups to maintain a modicum of higher end fitness, but the Recovery Phase is mostly about getting the body ready for the Endurance Phase.  That will begin for me on October 4, 2010.  In my next few posts I will show you how to evaluate your racing season, and develop a new training plan based on your results and new seasonal goals.  I will also post my Endurance Phase training program for 2010.  Click on the link below to download my Recovery Phase training plan.  Have a great week!

Recovery Phase Training Plan

NEXT POST – October 4, 2010

Evaluating Your Racing Season

Leave a Reply

Categories

