Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | September 16, 2010

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 21

Week 21 is the third week of the seventh mesocycle of my Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles), and my last big race week of the season.  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of September 6 to 12, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 9/6/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal OFF 1.0 VO2/SI OFF 0.5 AR 0.5 AR OFF AZ TT 40K 4.0
Actual OFF 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 Tempo 0.5 HCR OFF RC TT 40K 4.0

 

I had a great last week of the season.  In my last post, I mentioned that I was starting to feel some leg fatigue, but I wound up racing very well, albeit on less than 100% legs.  I was a bit fatigued during Tuesday’s Active Recovery session, but I felt much better during Thursday’s Tempo ride and Friday’s High Cadence Recovery workout.  Sunday’s race was the Arizona State Time Trial Championships in Arizona City.  Because I was still feeling some minor leg fatigue, I decided to focus on spinning smaller gears at a higher cadence (90-95 rpm).  This worked very well as I felt pretty strong throughout the race.  My average speed was 22.1 mph, which was the fastest I’ve ridden in a 40K since late spring.  Well off my personal best, but my chance to break that was last week on a much faster course.  Unfortunately, I flatted!

Now, on to my epiphany.  After last season, I had my handlebars lowered to allow me to assume a more aerodynamic position during time trial events.  All season long I have had a problem with an achy lower back during the second half of 40K time trials.  I thought this was due to the hilly terrain I was riding and simply required more training to get stronger in my core.  I assumed the problem would be rectified before the end of the season.  I had the problem once again during the state championships and then it hit me.  My handlebars are too low.  I may be more aerodynamic but I was losing power and I had to sit up briefly during the second half of races because of the discomfort.  No doubt, this slowed me down in most of my races, but I have since rectified the problem and should be much more comfortable (and still pretty aerodynamic) from this point forward.  The morale of the story: pay close attention to your position on the bike (i.e., bike fit).  It will have a dramatic impact on your performance.  I’ll be heading into my Recovery Phase for the next 3 weeks (lots of days off and recovery rides).  I’ll post my Recovery Phase training plan shortly along with my new Endurance Phase training plan which starts on October 4, 2010.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – September 20, 2010

Recovery Phase Training Plan

Leave a Reply

Categories

