Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | August 9, 2010

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 16

Week 16 is the first week of the sixth mesocycle of my Competition Phase, and a race week (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of August 2 to 8, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 8/2/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.5 HI 1.0 AR OFF 1.5 SS 1.0 AR OFF PP TT 40K 8.0
Actual 1.25 TT 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 Tempo 1.0 AR OFF ACCC TT 40K 6.0

 

I had a great week that culminated in a very good race.  My workouts consisted of Time Trial intervals, a Tempo ride and two Active Recovery sessions.  The Time Trial workout was my best ever indoors.  I was very strong and can tell I have made significant progress in developing my power at lactate threshold.  My Tempo workout was very strong as well.  That brings me to my race, which was another 40K time trial (the Arizona City Cotton Classic).  It was one of my strongest efforts of the season.  I made it a point not to start too hard (a mistake I made at the last ACCC) and rode a strong, steady effort until the 15-16 mile mark where I started to fatigue.  However, it wasn’t muscle fatigue this time, the heat just got to me (temps in the low 90’s with bright sunshine).  I still finished reasonably well, more than 4 minutes faster than last month’s race in the same hot conditions.  While my average speed of 21.8 mph is still fairly slow by my standards, I’m confident it will be much faster in my final three races, which will take place in much cooler temperatures.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – August 12, 2010

Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #5

Responses

  1. nice info…thanks


Leave a Reply

Categories

