Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | August 1, 2010

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 15

Week 15 is the third week of the fifth mesocycle of my Competition Phase, which means it is a recovery week (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Even though I reduced my volume a bit last week, I still needed some rest.  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of July 26 to August 1, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 7/26/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal OFF 1.5 VO2/SI 0.75 AR 0.75 AR OFF Piru TT 40K OFF 5.0
Actual 1.0 AR 1.0 Tempo OFF 1.25 AR OFF 1.0 AR OFF 4.25

 

I had a good week that consisted of three Active Recovery rides and one Tempo workout.  I did the Tempo ride indoors on my Time Trial bike.  I performed the Active recovery workouts on three different bicycles: indoors on a stationary bike, outdoors on my hybrid bike and indoors on my TT bike.  I felt good during the week but I did have some lingering fatigue.  Fortunately, I felt stronger by the end of Saturday’s ride.  Hopefully, that bodes well for my race this Sunday, but I have significantly lowered my expectations.  Simply stated, it is very hard to race at a high intensity in extreme heat, which is what we have here in Arizona.  So while my goal is to ride well, I know my time will be much slower than it would be in April or May when the heat is more tolerable.  I will take this into consideration when I set-up my training plan for next year’s racing season (it will be very different).  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – August 5, 2010

Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #5

Leave a Reply

Categories

