Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | July 25, 2010

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 14

Week 14 is the second week of the fifth mesocycle of my Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  I was still a little tired from the heat here in Arizona, but I got my legs back just in time for my race at the end of the week.  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of July 19 to 25, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 7/19/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.5 VO2/SI 1.0 AR OFF 2.0 SS 1.0 AR OFF SP TT 11.7 M 7.0
Actual 1.0 VO2 1.0 AR OFF 1.25 VO2 1.0  AR OFF SP TT 11.7 M 5.5

 

Overall, I had a good week.  I started out a bit tired, but felt much stronger toward the end.  My VO2max Intervals workout on Monday only included four, 3-minute intervals (Zone 5) because I was overcome by the heat (93° in my garage).  However, my legs were very strong during the hard efforts.  I decided at that moment that I was going to get a fan and use it during all of my indoor rides, and it makes a huge difference.  I used it during Thursday’s VO2max workout and performed 8 x 3:00 repeats.  I felt much better because of the consistent breeze (I sweated far less so had fewer problems with dehydration).  I also did two Active Recovery rides.  This, in addition to slightly decreased volume helped me feel much stronger for Sunday’s race, the Sonoita-Patagonia Time Trial in Sonoita, Arizona.  It’s a really fun race because it is 11.7 miles with a 700-foot elevation drop.  It’s nice racing downhill for a change, but don’t let that fool you.  It’s just as hard racing downhill as it is uphill because your effort should be the same (e.g., heart rate, power).  You just ride a lot faster going downhill!  I was the strongest I’ve been in two months.  It was the first time I’ve raced this year and I didn’t crack at all, but my legs were screaming at the end.  I’m not sure how I did overall because I messed up the timing.  I’ll have to wait until they post the results online.  Next week is a recovery week, which I really need. Have a great week!

NEXT POST – July 29, 2010

Lose Weight WITHOUT Dieting: Tip #4

Leave a Reply

Categories

