Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | June 13, 2010

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 8

Week 8 is the second week of the third mesocycle of my Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  This is an important tune-up week because I have my first big 40K race next weekend.  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of June 7 to June 13, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 6/7/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.0 HI 1.0 AR OFF 2.0 TT 1.0 AR 1.5 SS OFF 7.5
Actual 2.25 HI 1.0 SS OFF 2.0 HI 1.0 AR 1.75 SS OFF 8.0

 

I rode very well this week, but once again I had dehydration problems during Monday’s Hill Intervals up South Mountain in Phoenix.  I performed two, 7-mile ascents (2,500 + feet of climbing) at my fastest pace yet, but I was completely out of fluids during the second ascent (temperatures were in the 90’s).  The good news is that I have figured out how to deal with this problem when I ride South Mountain and shouldn’t have any more issues (I’m going to park at the bottom of the mountain and ‘reload’ after each ascent).  I had another Hill Interval workout on Thursday at South Mountain.  This time I did short intervals (1.75 miles) up a steep slope, but I suffered significant muscle fatigue after the second interval and just rode for another hour on hilly terrain.  I was very tired during my second Active Recovery ride on Friday, but I felt much stronger during Saturday’s Steady Spinning session.  I rode my hybrid bike for the first time in months and had a really enjoyable ride.  Big race next week – I’ll let you know how it goes.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – June 15, 2010

Cycling Performance Tip #20

Leave a Reply

Categories

