Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | June 7, 2010

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 7

Week 7 is the first week of the third mesocycle of my Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  I was supposed to race this week, but I decided to cancel at the last minute to save myself the expense and a 13-hour round trip drive to California.  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of May 31 to June 6, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 5/31/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.0 AR 1.5 VO2/SI OFF 1.5 SS OFF Piru TT 40K OFF 6.0
Actual 1.0 AR 1.0 SS OFF 1.0 Tempo 1.0 AR 1.5 V02 OFF 5.5

 

I had a solid week that ended more strongly than it began, but also ended with a big mistake.  I felt good during Monday’s Active Recovery ride, but I was really tired during Tuesday’s Steady Spinning workout.  Clearly, I was still feeling it from Sunday’s race.  By Thursday, I was much stronger for my Tempo ride and was also very strong for Saturday’s VO2max session.  However, I made a bad mistake that I want you to learn from.  On Friday night, I had an enjoyable time with my family watching movies and eating junk food (that’s not the mistake).  Because I overdid it a bit, I decided to forgo my pre-ride meal and got on the bike in 90-degree heat without eating or drinking anything.  The problem was not a lack of energy, it was dehydration.  I had two, 25-ounce bottles that were gone 50 minutes into my workout so I spent the last 40-minutes dying of thirst.  This problem would have been avoided if I had my normal pre-ride meal, which consists of a cup of cereal and 8 ounces of milk, plus some water to drink.  The moral of the story: always pay attention to your pre-workout nutrition and hydration needs.  It has a huge impact on your performance.  If you are uncertain about what you should eat or drink, read Cycling Performance Tip #3: Determine Your Pre-Workout Nutritional Needs for an overview.  I still had a good VO2max workout (5 x 1 mile intervals up a 130-foot climb in Zone 4 & 5), but I could have completed more intervals if I was properly hydrated.  Oh well, we live and learn.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – June 9, 2010

Cycling Performance Tip #19

Leave a Reply

Categories

