Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | May 24, 2010

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 5

Week 5 is the second week of the second mesocycle of my Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).   I decided not to race the Mount Lemmon Time Trial in Tucson, AZ since I have not had a chance to train there yet.  It’s a 12.5 mile course with 3,000 feet of climbing so I think I should train on the mountain for a few months first!  I’ll start going down there later this spring to get ready for next year’s event.  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of May 17 to 23, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 5/17/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.0 HI 1.0 AR OFF 1.5 SS 1.0 AR OFF ML TT or 2.0 TT 7.5
Actual 2.5 HI 1.0 AR OFF 1.5 HI 1.0 AR Tempo 1.75 OFF 7.75

 

I had another strong week, especially on Monday.  I climbed South Mountain in Phoenix, AZ twice for the first time (two, seven mile ascents – about 2,500 feet of climbing).  I’m getting more comfortable riding uphill but I have a long way to go to become a really strong climber.  I went back to South Mountain on Thursday and performed 4 x 1.75 mile Hill Intervals (Zone 4 & 5) up a steep section of the mountain.  I rode well during Saturday’s Tempo ride but at a slower than normal pace because my legs were fairly tired from all of the climbing.  My two Active Recovery rides were followed with 30 minutes of strength training.  All in all, not a bad week!

NEXT POST – May 27, 2010

Cycling Performance Tip #17

Leave a Reply

Categories

