Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | May 17, 2010

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 4

Week 4 is the first week of the second mesocycle of my Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  It was an exciting week because I traveled to California to participate in the Southern California/Nevada Cycling Association (SCNCA) state time trial championships.   Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of May 10 to 16, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase).

Week of 5/10/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.0 TT 1.0 AR OFF 1.5 SS OFF SC TT 23.5 M OFF 6.5
Actual 1.75 TT 1.0 AR OFF 1.25 SS OFF SC TT 23.5 M OFF 6.0

 

I had a good week leading up to the time trial championships, but I did have some lingering leg fatigue from last Saturday’s mountain time trial race.  Monday’s Time Trial Intervals were strong, but my legs were tired after the workout.  They were also tired after Tuesday’s Active Recovery session and were still a bit tired during Thursday’s Steady Spinning workout.  Fortunately, I was fully recovered for Saturday’s state championship time trial.  I was really excited about this race because it is the flattest time trial I have competed in since moving to Arizona from Michigan in December.  However, it was far from flat with nearly 500 feet of climbing over 23.5 miles.  I wanted to break one hour but missed by about 85 seconds.  I cracked from muscle fatigue on the last 6-mile uphill stretch (it’s times like this that I miss those flat Michigan roads).  However, I am quite pleased with how much better I have gotten at riding uphill over the past 4 months.  By the time my major events roll around in 3.5 months I should be much faster.  Have a great week!

NEXT POST – May 20, 2010

Cycling Performance Tip #15

Responses

  1. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net


Leave a Reply

Categories

