Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | May 10, 2010

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 3

Week 3 is the third week of the first mesocycle of my Competition Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Although it was a recovery week, I had my first mountain time trial; a 5.5 mile race up South Mountain in Phoenix, AZ (1,164 feet of climbing with a maximum grade of 18.2%).  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of May 3 to 9, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Competition Phase). 

Week of 5/3/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.0 HI 0.75 AR OFF 0.75 AR OFF SM TT 1.5 OFF 5.0
Actual 1.75 HI 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 AR OFF SM TT 1.75 OFF 5.5

 

I had a great week.   Monday’s Hill Interval workout on South Mountain was my strongest to date.  I did one 7-mile ascent and followed that up with a 3-mile ascent for a total of 10 miles of climbing.  I did two, 1-hour Active Recovery rides (followed by 30 minutes of strength training) prior to my hill climb time trial on Saturday.  I can honestly say that this race was the most painful physical activity I have ever experienced.  It was only the fifth time I have been on South Mountain (or any other mountain for that matter) so I am still trying to develop my climbing legs.  I rode harder and faster than I did for any of my previous mountain rides but it was a very painful and nauseating experience!  My time of 27:49 was fairly slow (11.9 mph) but given my total lack of experience with climbing, I am very confident that I will be able to shave about one minute per mile off of my time over the next year.  I should be very competitive in next year’s race!  I have another race coming up this week.  I’ll be in California racing in the SCNCA State Time Trial Championships.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

NEXT POST – May 13, 2010

Cycling Performance Tip #14

Leave a Reply

Categories

