Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | April 22, 2010

My Periodized Training Program: Competition Phase

Racing season is at hand and it’s time for all the hard training during the Endurance and Intensity phases to pay off!  I have posted my 24-week Competition Phase training program below.  I have two goals for this phase.  One, I want to have fun racing.  Since it is more fun to do well in races, I want to maximize my performance by training twice a week at a high intensity (this includes interval workouts and races).  Second, I want to peak during the next to last mesocycle (August 23 to September 12, 2010) when my three most significant races take place in New Mexico and Arizona.  As you read the training plan, please keep a few points in mind:

  1. As with the Endurance and Intensity phases, I am using a 16/5, 21 day mesocycle (16 days of hard training, 5 days of recovery). 
  2. The training plan is composed of my High Impact Cycling Workouts.
  3. Each mesocycle consists of 6 high intensity efforts (a combination of interval workouts and races), with the exception of the mesocycles immediately before and after my peaking period (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcycles).

Competition Phase – 24 Week Program

NEXT POST – April 26, 2010

Cycle Log: Competition Phase Week 1

Leave a Reply

Categories

