Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | March 29, 2010

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase Week 9

Week 9 is third week of the third mesocycle of my Intensity Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles), and a much needed recovery week.  I was feeling a bit worn out after my first race and follow-up interval session.  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of March 22 to 28, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Intensity Phase).

Week of 3/22/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.0 AR OFF 1.25 VO2/SI 0.75 AR OFF 2.0 GR OFF 5.0
Actual 1.0 AR 1.0 VO2 OFF 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 SS:I OFF 4.0

 

I had a nice recovery week.   After a one hour Active Recovery ride on Monday (the day after my first race of the season), I did a VO2max Interval workout indoors on my TT bike.  It consisted of 4 x 3:00 hard efforts above lactate threshold with 3 minutes of recovery.  My goal was to complete 6 or 7 intervals, but I was still a bit tired from Sunday’s race so I stopped after four.  During my five days of recovery, I did one Active Recovery spin and one Steady Spinning: Indoors session on my TT bike to work on my form.  I should be ready to go with my hardest week to date coming up.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

NEXT POST – March 25, 2010

Cycling Performance Tip #10

Leave a Reply

Categories

