Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | March 8, 2010

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase Week 6

Week 6 is the final week of the second mesocycle of my Intensity Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  Because it is the final week of a mesocycle, it mostly consisted of recovery rides and extra rest to prepare for the next mesocycle.  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of March 1 to 7, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Intensity Phase).

Week of 3/1/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.25 VO2/SI 0.75 AR OFF 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 AR OFF 4.0
Actual 1.0 VO2 2.0 HC OFF 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 SS:I OFF 5.0

 

This was a very good recovery week.  It began with a great VO2max Interval workout followed by a strong Hill Climb workout.  The VO2max session consisted of 6 x 3:00 hard efforts above lactate threshold followed by 3 minutes of recovery indoors on my TT bike.  The hill climb was performed outdoors on my racing bike at my fastest pace yet on the hilly course I ride near my home.  Over the next five days I took three days off, did one Active Recovery ride (with a strength training session afterward), and finished the week with a Steady Spinning: Indoors workout on my TT bike (this is the type of ride that allows me to work on my time trial form).  I felt stronger at the end of the week so I should be ready to ramp up the effort during my next mesocycle.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

NEXT POST – March 11, 2010

Cycling Performance Tip #7

Leave a Reply

Categories

