Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | March 1, 2010

Cycle Log: Intensity Phase Week 5

Week 5 is the second week of the second mesocycle of my Intensity Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  At this point in my periodized training program, I am really focusing on lots of interval/high intensity work.  I know many people cringe at the thought of interval workouts but I actually enjoy them.  Yes, they can be painful but they give you tremendous results in a relatively short period of time.  Simply stated, intervals allow you to get faster and stronger.  They also wear you out and I am definitely feeling some leg fatigue.  Here are the actual workouts with the plan for the week of February 22 to 28, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Intensity Phase).

Week of 2/22/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.25 VO2/SI 1.25 SS OFF 1.5 PI 1.0 AR 2.0 GR OFF 7.0
Actual 1.0 VO2 1.0 SS:I OFF 2.25 HI 1.0 AR 1.25 Tempo OFF 6.5

 

I had another strong week.  I performed Monday’s VO2max intervals indoors on my TT bike.  I did five 3-minute intervals that took me into Zone 5 with 3 minutes of recovery after each hard effort.  I felt a little worn out so I didn’t do any sprint intervals.  My Hill Intervals workout included four, 3-mile ascents for a total of more than 2,000 feet of climbing.  My Steady Spinning: Indoors and Tempo workouts were also performed on my TT bike.  I did an Active Recovery ride on a stationary bike in the gym along with a strength training workout.  As of the end of February, I have ridden 51.5 hours for 828 miles; 200 more than I covered at the same point last year.  I have another hard interval workout on Monday and then recovery for the rest of the week.  I could really use a little rest!  I’ll let you know how it goes.

NEXT POST – March 4, 2010

Cycling Performance Tip #6

Leave a Reply

Categories

