Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | January 20, 2010

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 14

  Week 14 is the second week of the fifth and final mesocycle for my Endurance Phase (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  It was also my best training week this winter, totaling 117 miles on very hilly terrain with two moderate-to-high intensity workouts.  Here are the actual workouts compared with the plan for the week of January 11 to 17, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Endurance Phase).  The scheduled workouts included Steady Spinning, Cadence Intervals, Pyramid Intervals and Active Recovery.  My actual workouts incorporated a Hill Intervals workout and a Tempo ride.

Week of 1/11/10 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.0 SS 1.5 SS OFF 1.25 PI 1.0 AR 1.25 CI OFF 7.0
Actual 2.5 SS 1.0 AR OFF 1.5 HI 1.0 AR 1.0 Tempo OFF 7.0

 

Monday’s ride was my longest this Phase, totaling 40 miles on very hilly terrain.  Thursday’s Hill Interval workout was awesome.  I did 5 repeats up a very steep, 1.25 mile mountain road.  My goal is to work up to 10 repeats.  I performed my two Active recovery rides indoors on a stationary bike and did two, 30-minute strength training workouts.  My Tempo ride was also performed indoors on my Time Trial bike.  Next week is the last week of my Endurance Phase and is a recovery week.  It’s actually perfect timing because I’ll be on the road, and will only ride 3 or 4 times.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

NEXT POST – January 22, 2010

My 2010 Intensity Phase

Leave a Reply

Categories

