Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | January 16, 2010

My 2010 Training and Racing Goals

       I have identified my training (process) and racing (outcome) SMART goals for the 2010 cycling season (see Setting Goals for Exercise Part 1 & 2, Developing Your SMART Goals and Process vs. Outcome Goals for more information on the process).  Because I relocated from southeast Michigan to the greater Phoenix metropolitan area, I will be racing in the heat of the Arizona summer!  As you take a look at my training goals, please note that in 2009, I rode for 275 hours and 4, 238 miles.  Because every race will be new for me, my goals are very high but I believe they are achievable.  In the next couple of weeks, I will post my training plan for the Intensity phase.  These are the workouts that really prepare you for a successful racing season.  Click below to download the goals.  As always, I hope you find this helpful!

UPDATE!  I have decided to modify my goals for the 2010 racing season.  I am doing this for two reasons.  First, I have come to realize that I have too many goals for too many events, and I may not have time to properly prepare for each of these races.  Second, since my first love is the time trial and my long-term goal is to break one hour in a 40K race against the clock, I want my goals to reflect this reality.  Therefore, I have really made it simple.  I have one goal for this season:  To complete a 40K time trial at an average speed of 24 mph (1:02:00).

My 2010 Racing Goal

NEXT POST – January 20, 2010

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 14

Responses

  1. Good luck achieving your goals


Leave a Reply

Categories

