Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | January 7, 2010

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 12

Week 12 of my Endurance Phase is the third week of my fourth mesocycle (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  I originally scheduled a recovery week but because I have missed some time on the bike due to my move, I did four fairly hard rides.  Here are the actual workouts compared with the plan for the week of December 28, 2009 to January 3, 2010 (click here to download my plan for the Endurance Phase).  The scheduled workouts included Steady Spinning, Cadence Intervals and Active Recovery.  My actual workouts include an indoor Tempo Ride, Steady Spinning: Indoors and two outdoor Hill Rides.

Week of 12/28/09 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.0 SS 1.25 CI OFF 0.75 AR OFF 0.75 AR OFF 4.75
Actual 1.25 Tempo 1.0 SS:I OFF 1.5 HR OFF 1.75 HR OFF 5.5

 

This was a great week.  For the first time in my life, I rode a bike outside in January!  I moved to Arizona for the opportunity to ride outdoors during the winter and to ride in mountainous terrain.  Well, as the saying goes, be careful about what you wish for, you just might get it.   I’ve never ridden up climbs that go on for mile after mile after mile.  I’ve gone up some very steep hills, but after a mile or so you’re flying downhill.  Here, they just keep going up!  But that’s good.  Extremely tiring, but good.  I did my first hill ride on Thursday and was already feeling stronger from it on Saturday’s ride.  I can tell that I am really going to like training and racing here.  Which reminds me, I will be making a few adjustments to my training regimen because my racing schedule will be much different here compared to what it was in Michigan.  For example, my first race is in a little over two weeks (although for me, it will be nothing more than a fitness test).  I’ll talk more about this in my next post.

NEXT POST – January 11, 2010

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 13

Responses

  1. Very interesting post.


Leave a Reply

Categories

