Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | January 4, 2010

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Weeks 10 & 11

Happy New Year!  Once again, due to my relocation, weeks 10 & 11 of my Endurance Phase had to be significantly modified.  You’ll really notice this in week 10, which was our moving week.  We loaded up the moving van on December 14 and left Michigan for Arizona the next day with light snow and temps in the 20’s.  We arrived on December 19 on a sunny day with temps near 70 (talk about putting a smile on my face)!  Except for our first travel day, we had great weather and beautiful scenery.  The mountain landscapes we saw once we hit New Mexico were absolutely gorgeous. 

Week 10 served as a de facto recovery week.  I was very tired from the move so my rides consisted of easy spins on hotel stationary bikes.  Week 11 was spent unpacking so I only rode three times, but these were higher intensity rides.  Here are the actual workouts compared with the plan for the weeks of December 14 to 20 and December 21 to 27, 2009 (click here to download my plan for the Endurance Phase).  My actual workouts were limited to Steady Spinning: Indoors, Active Recovery and one Pyramid Intervals session.  All of these rides were performed indoors. 

Week of 12/14/09 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.0 SS 1.25 CI OFF 1.25 SI 0.75 AR 1.25 Tempo OFF 6.5
Actual OFF OFF 1.0 SS:I OFF 0.75 AR 0.50 AR 1.0 SS:I 3.25
Week of 12/21/09 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 2.0 SS 1.25 CI OFF 1.25 SI 0.75 AR 1.25 Tempo OFF 6.5
Actual OFF OFF 1.0 SS:I 1.0 SS:I OFF 1.0 PI OFF 3.0

 

While my training hours have come down during our relocation, the short, intense workouts I have done over the past few weeks have really worked.  My December 26 interval workout was my strongest to date.  Unfortunately, I gained 2-3 pounds because of all the fast food we ate on the trip, but that weight will come off once I return to my normal eating habits.  I’m back on my training plan and loving the outdoor riding.  I’ll tell you more about it in my next post.

NEXT POST – January 7, 2010

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase – Week 12

Responses

  1. Dr Holmes – I applaud both your cycling and your dedication to helping others learn about your process. I’ve read Joe Friel’s book (two different editions over the years), and I’ve been doing various group rides such as centuries, multi day tours, etc over the past 8-9 years (I’m 47). This sort of ride is all I’m interested in, not racing.

    I have a general question about periodization. For average enthusiast rider, who is not doing Criteria, TT’s, etc, is this sort of periodization really best?

    eg – My “A” priority ride this year is a 130 mi ride in July. By your method, I would get my peak miles in the Spring ‘base’ period and then give up longer rides for shorter, more intense ones as Summer approaches. This is contrary to what I’ve done in the past, which is just to gradually increase miles throughout. Any suggestions?

    • Hi David – Thank you for your kind words. Yes, I definitely recommend this form of periodization for you. However, it will look different for you than it would for a stage racer or time trialist. Of course, your “endurance phase” should consist of a lot of miles to develop aerobic capacity and to get used to sitting on the bike for long periods of time. Your “intensity” phase should continue to include long rides, however, I suggest you also perform some higher intensity efforts to improve your power at lactate threshold. To put it simply, this will allow you to ride faster at the same level of effort (e.g., heart rate) during long rides like your 130 miler in July. One or two ‘hard’ efforts each week will significantly improve your fitness and make your long rides seem easier (but not easy)! Try to perform hard efforts that resemble the difficult aspects of your goal ride. For example, if there will be hilly stretches, perform Hill Intervals. If it is a mostly flat course do some Time Trials. If you want to avoid intervals that’s OK, just perform some hard efforts during your long rides. For example, do 30-second sprints (an all-out effort) every 5 minutes for an hour. This will provide you with a tremendous workout. Best of luck and please let me know if I can be of further assistance.


Leave a Reply

Categories

