Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | November 22, 2009

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 5

Week 5 of my Endurance Phase is the second week of my second mesocycle (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  I made some alterations to the scheduled workouts, primarily because I was able to ride outside several times (and because I get bored very quickly).  Here are the actual workouts compared with the plan for the week of November 9 to November 15, 2009 (click here to download my plan for the Endurance Phase).  The scheduled workouts include Steady Spinning, High Cadence Spinning and Power Bursts.  I replaced Tuesday’s Power Burst session with an Active Recovery workout due to fatigue from Monday’s 2.5 hour ride.  I replaced Thursday’s High Cadence Spinning workout with a Strength Interval workout and Saturday’s Power Burst session with a 1.5 hour Zone 2 spin.

Week of 11/9/09 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.75 SS 1.0 PB OFF 1.75 HCS OFF 1.0 PB OFF 5.5
Actual 2.5 SS 1.0 AR OFF 1.0 SI OFF 1.5 SS OFF 6.0

 

I had a great week.  I was very strong for three rides with a little leg fatigue for Tuesday’s Active Recovery session.  I had my longest ride yet with my 2.5 hour ride on a hilly course.  I also had a great Strength Interval workout, which was my first interval workout of this Endurance Phase.  Next up is a recovery week.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

NEXT POST – November 23, 2009

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase – Week 6

Leave a Reply

Categories

