Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | November 9, 2009

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 4

Week 4 of my Endurance Phase is the first week of my second mesocycle (click here for a detailed description of macrocyles, mesocycles and microcycles).  My two weekly endurance rides are slightly longer during this mesocycle (1.75 hours) and I continue to do two Power Burst workouts each week.  I was only able to ride outside once this week due to our cold Michigan weather.  Here are the actual workouts compared with the plan for the week of November 2 to November 8, 2009 (click here to download my plan for the Endurance Phase).  The scheduled workouts included Steady Spinning and Power Bursts.  I replaced Saturday’s Power Burst session with a Zone 3 Tempo workout outdoors.

Week of 11/2/09 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.75 SS 1.00 PB OFF 1.75 HCS OFF 1.00 PB OFF 5.5
Actual 1.75 SS:I 1.00 PB OFF 1.75 SS:I OFF 1.25 Tempo OFF 5.75

 

Overall, I had another good week.  I was very strong for all four rides.  My aerobic endurance is getting better.  So is my muscular endurance since I can spin bigger gears now than I could a month ago.  I rode a hilly course in fairly big gears for Saturday’s Tempo ride.  I also performed two ‘off-the-bike’ strength training workouts.  This week’s schedule is the same only it has warmed up here so I should be able to get outside for a few workouts.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

NEXT POST – November 26, 2009

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase – Weeks 5 & 6

Leave a Reply

Categories

