Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | November 2, 2009

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 3

Week 3 of my Endurance Phase is a recovery week.  The week began with two hard workouts and finished with two easy recovery rides.  Fortunately, I was able to ride outdoors early in the week and once again, rode my Trek 7300 hybrid over terrain with lots of rolling hills.  The two recovery rides were performed indoors on my Trek Madone 5.2 and Lemond Rennes Time Trial bikes.  Here are the actual workouts compared with the plan for the week of October 26 to November 1, 2009 (click here to download my plan for the Endurance Phase).  The scheduled workouts included Steady Spinning, Power Bursts and Active Recovery.  I replaced the Power Burst session with a Hill Ride for Tuesday’s workout. 

Week of 10/26/09 Mon Tues Wed Th Fri Sat Sun Total
Goal 1.75 SS 1.0 PB OFF 0.75 AR OFF 0.75 AR OFF 4.25
Actual 2.25 SS 1.25 HR OFF 0.5 AR OFF 0.75 AR OFF 4.75

 

Overall, I had another good week.  I was very strong for the two hard rides.  Tuesday’s ride was on very hilly terrain.  I was not fully recovered by Thursday and had tired legs, but felt much better for Saturday’s ride on my time trial bike.  This week I begin my next mesocycle (click here for a detailed description of macrocycles, mesocycles and microcyles).  I’ll let you know how it goes!

NEXT POST – November 5, 2009

Cycling Performance Tip #2

Leave a Reply

Categories

