Posted by: Dr. Tyrone A. Holmes | October 26, 2009

Cycle Log: Endurance Phase Week 2

Greetings, I had another good training week.  What made it so good is that it finally warmed up here in Southeast Michigan and I was able to ride outside for two of my workouts (Tuesday and Thursday).   I performed my outdoor rides on my Trek 7300 hybrid (my slowest, least expensive and favorite bike) over terrain with lots of rolling hills.  The two indoor rides were performed on my Trek Madone 5.2.  Here are the actual workouts compared with the plan for the week of October 19-25, 2009 (click here to download my plan for the Endurance Phase).  You’ll notice the goal workouts are the same as last week (SS = Steady Spinning; PB = Power Bursts; HCS = High Cadence Spinning).  

Week of 10/19/09

Mon

Tues

Wed

Th

Fri

Sat

Sun

Total

Goal

1.5 SS

1.0 PB

OFF

1.5 HCS

OFF

1.0 PB

OFF

5.0

Actual

1.5 SS:I

1.25 PB

OFF

2.0 SS

OFF

1.0 PB

OFF

5.75

 

I had very good workouts.  Once again, I felt strong for all four rides and had no problems completing the sessions.  In fact, I can already feel the results from my Power Burst workouts.  I am able to pedal larger gears more easily.  My cadence for the long indoor ride was consistently 90 to 100 RPM after warm-up (it was lower for the 2.0 hour outdoor ride).  For both Power Burst (PB) workouts, I completed 10 x 15 seconds PB with a gear combination of 53×13.   Once again, I completed two strength training workouts.  

This week (Week 3) is my first recovery week.  However, I perform my longest ride of this mesocycle (the 21-day training blocks in my Endurance phase) on Monday and another Power Burst workout on Tuesday.  The rest of the week consists of short Active Recovery rides.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

NEXT POST – October 29, 2009

Cycling Performance Tip #1

Leave a Reply

Categories

